European Union Awareness

European Union Awareness

Town Twinning:

“United in Diversity” is the motto of the European Union.

Town Twinning Associations organise a variety of exchange programmes for E.U citizens to help promote the motto.

The European Union through the Education, Audiovisual & Culture Exchange Agency (EACEA) regularly financially supports Town Twinning Citizens’ Meetings.

Carrickmacross / Carhaix Town Twinning Association acknowledges receipt of “Europe for Citizens Programmes” grant aid on a number of occasions.

The E.U.

After World War 2, there was fear of military confrontation between France and Germany over control of the steel and coal rich Ruhr Region.


French Foreign Minister Robert Schuman put forward “The Schumana Plan”,
drafted by economist and civil servant Jean Monnet, placing the entire coal and steel production under the control of one authority.


The European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) is established by the Treaty of Paris. France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Holland and Luxembourg signed. The purpose was to prevent war in Europe.

The ECSC entered into force in 1952.     It expired in 2002


The Treaty of Rome was signed on March 25th by France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg establishing the European Economic Community (EEC).

The Treaty of Rome entered into force in 1958.

Euratom, a separate treaty creating the European Atomic Energy Community was also signed.


The Brussels Treaty is signed.     Entered into force 1967.


The Republic of Ireland, the U.K and Denmark join the EEC on January 1st.


Greece joins The European Community


Spain and Portugal become EEC Member States.

The European Flag – blue background with 12 golden stars in a circle to symbolise the ideals of unity, solidarity and harmony among the peoples of Europe is unveiled.

Single European Act is signed.      Entered into force 1987.


The Maastricht Treaty on European Economic and Monetary Union is signed.

Entered into force in 1993.


Austria, Sweden and Finland join the E.U. Norway votes not to join.


The Treaty of Amsterdam is signed.  Entered into force in 1999.


The Treaty of Nice is signed.              Entered into force in 2003


The Euro is accepted in 12 E.U. countries. (The U.K. Sweden & Denmark retain their own currencies)


Cyprus, The Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia join on May 1st.


Bulgaria and Romania join the E.U.

The Lisbon Treaty is signed.        Entered into force in 2009.


Croatia joins the European Union bringing the number of member states to 28.

2014:The euro is the currency of 18 E.U. states:

(The 10 remaining member states retain their own currency)









Scroll to Top
Cookie Consent with Real Cookie Banner